A Wheel of Fortune contestant is going viral after a simple mistake caused him to lose a round of the game.
On Monday night's episode of the show in the US, contestant Alex had a win in the bag for the final group puzzle.
He correctly guessed 'Y' and as the letter showed up on the board, he simply needed to say the answer out loud – funnily enough, the answer was 'Declaring Victory'.
However, Alex made the mistake of excitedly looking at host Pat Sajak, holding his hands above his head and saying, "I'm declaring victory!"
While attempting to declare his victory, Alex had broken a Wheel of Fortune rule – you must simply say the words in the answer, which would be, "Declaring victory," except Alex said, "I'm declaring victory."
Unfortunately for Alex, it's one of the show's strictest rules and in attempting to declare his victory, he sealed his defeat.
Contestant Amanda correctly answered, without saying, "I'm," and Alex appeared stunned until Pat explained what happened.
"Alex, you look a little puzzled, but you added a word!" Pat told the stunned contestant. "You said, 'I'm declaring victory!' And you're not allowed to do that, you have to just say the puzzle."
another classic wheel of fortune L “I’m declaring victory” lmao pic.twitter.com/lazHrNcNWN
— Wood Slanga (@anthme) November 17, 2020
"I didn’t even know I said, 'I’m,'" Alex said to the host.
"Take my word. Look at my eyes. Would I lie to you?" Pat joked.
Luckily, Alex was still the big winner and took home $32,000, but no doubt that was painful to rewatch.
Twitter users found the clip very entertaining with some saying they were "embarrassed for him".
"He was ready to call the manager....I know that look," one user joked.
"Omg I can’t stop laughing," another wrote.
"I could see his soul leave his body," someone else joked.
Never miss a thing. Sign up to Yahoo Lifestyle’s daily newsletter.
Or if you have a story idea, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.