Variety Announces ‘A Night in the Writers’ Room’ Lineup

Variety’s 13th annual “A Night in the Writers’ Room” returns on June 13 in Los Angeles, featuring three panels moderated by Variety’s esteemed journalists Michael Schneider, Emily Longeretta, and Clayton Davis, with this year’s Emmy-contending writers in the drama, comedy and limited series categories.

An invite-only audience of industry voters will attend the event with a cocktail reception before the panels.

More from Variety

“Nothing beats getting a bunch of showrunners and writers in a room to discuss their craft and compare notes on the creative process,” said Variety TV editor Michael Schneider. “And this year, we’re excited to hear all about some of the most impactful shows of the Emmy season.”

The Comedy panel features:

  • Abe Sylvia, “Palm Royale”

  • Jen Statsky, “Hacks”

  • Dan Harmon, “Krapopolis”

  • Steve Holland, “Young Sheldon”

  • Jake Bender, “What We Do in the Shadows”

  • Diarra Kilpatrick, “Diarra from Detroit”

  • Alan Yang, “Loot”

The Drama panel features:

  • Francesca Sloane, “Mr. & Mrs. Smith”

  • Todd A. Kessler, “The New Look”

  • J.T. Rogers, “Tokyo Vice”

  • Justin Marks, “Shōgun”

  • Bill Wolkoff, “Star Trek: Strange New Worlds”

  • Robb Cullen, “Average Joe”

The Limited Series panel features:

  • Lulu Wang, “Expats”

  • Monica Beletsky, “Manhunt”

  • John Orloff, “Masters of the Air”

  • Samir Mehta, “Under the Bridge”

  • Jon Robin Baitz, “Feud: Capote Vs. the Swans”

  • Issa López, “True Detective: Night Country”

  • Melanie Marnich, “Apples Never Fall”

  • Don McKellar, “The Sympathizer”

  • Ben Vanstone, “A Gentleman in Moscow”

Conversations from A Night in the Writers’ Room will be published on following the event.

ABC Signature, Apple TV+, BET, Fox, FX, HBO/max, Paramount+, Peacock, Prime Video and Warner Bros. Television are supporting partners of the event.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.