Frameline48 Presents LGBTQ+ Filmmakers With Awards & $40K In Funding On Closing Night

EXCLUSIVE: The 48th San Francisco International LGBTQ+ Film Festival aka Frameline48 wrapped over the weekend and presented it awards after a slate of 120 in-person screenings and programs featuring international LGBTQ+ filmmakers and Bay Area artists.

Frameline48 highlights included a 30th anniversary screening of the 4K restoration of Go Fish; the “queer premiere” of Anthony Schatteman’s Young Hearts; the U.S. premiere of Juan Pablo Di Pace and Andrés P. Estrada’s Duino, world premieres of Deborah Craig’s Sally! (co-directed by Jörg Fockele and Ondine Rarey) and Osama Chami’s Una película barata; and screenings of Harrison Xu, Ivan Leung and Katherine Dudas’ Extremely Unique Dynamic, Marco Berger’s The Astronaut Lovers (Los amantes astronautas) and Luke Willis’ Lady Like, which saw the director and Lady Camden, the film’s subject, in attendance.

More from Deadline

The Frameline kickoff celebration featured a live performance by singer, songwriter and producer Linda Perry, followed by a screening of Don Hardy’s Linda Perry: Let It Die Here. The festival closed out its run by presenting Emmy-winning writer, producer and actor Lena Waithe with the Creative Conscience Award.

“Every year, Frameline is marking new ‘firsts,’ and 2024 was no exception,” said Allegra Madsen, Frameline’s Executive Director. “Frameline48 began with an unprecedented community celebration of Blackness and queerness, which set the stage for the entire festival to be a celebration of all of our intersecting queer identities. As both the leader of this dynamic, community-centered film organization and a long-time programmer, I couldn’t be prouder of Frameline48’s success. But the success isn’t just Frameline’s — the success belongs to the filmmakers, storytellers and audiences who came together to celebrate the power queer cinema has to change the world and shape the cultural narrative.”

Here are the winners of the June 19-29 festival’s juried awards, Outstanding First Feature Award and Audience Awards:

Outstanding First Feature ($2,500)
National Anthem, directed by Luke Gilford

Honorable mentions:
In the Summers, directed by Alessandra Lacorazza
Young Hearts, directed by Anthony Schatteman

Outstanding Documentary Feature ($2,500)
Fragments of a Life Loved (Frammenti di un percorso amoroso), directed by Chloé Barreau

Outstanding Narrative Short Award ($750)
Paradise Europe (Du Bist so Wunderbar), directed by Leandro Goddinho & Paulo Menezes

Honorable mentions:
If I’m Here It Is by Mystery (Se Eu Tô Aqui é Por Mistério), directed by Clari Ribeiro
Ripe!, directed by Tusk

Outstanding Documentary Short Award ($750)
Seat 31: Zooey Zephyr, directed by Kimberly Reed

Honorable mentions:
Wouldn’t Make It Any Other Way, directed by Hao Zhou
You Can’t Get What You Want but You Can Get Me, directed by Samira Elagoz & Z Walsh


Comcast Audience Award for Narrative Feature ($1,500)
All Shall Be Well, directed by Ray Yeung

Comcast Audience Award for Documentary Feature ($1,500)
The World According to Allee Willis, directed by Alexis Spraic


2024 Colin Higgins Youth Foundation Grant Recipients ($15,000)
Farah Jabir (Kasbi)
Leaf Lieber (Burrow)

2024 Out in the Silence Award
Any Other Way: The Jackie Shane Story by directors Michael Mabbott and Lucah Rosenberg-Lee

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.