Cannes Critics’ Week Appoints New Jury President As Rodrigo Sorogoyen Cancels Attendance

Cannes Critics’ Week has appointed French producer Sylvie Pialat as president of the jury for its upcoming edition after Spanish director Rodrigo Sorogoyen, who was originally announced for the role, was forced to cancel for personal reasons.

French director Iris Kaltenbäck has also been been named as a new jury member. Her first film The Rapture premiered to acclaim in Critics’ Week last year. The drama, starring Hafsia Herzi as a midwife who passes off her best friend’s newborn child as her own, won the Prix SACD.

More from Deadline

Previously announced members of the jury include Rwandan actress Eliane Umuhire (Augure by BalojiMy New FriendsHaven of Grace), Belgian cinematographer Virginie Surdej (The Blue CaftanOur MothersCasablanca Beats), and Canadian film critic and journalist Ben Croll.

Producer Pialat spent the first part of her cinema career collaborating with her husband Maurice Pialat, co-writing the screenplays for a number of his films including Police and Van Gogh.

Following his death in 2003, she created Les Films du Worso and since produced more than 50 feature films under that banner, including works by Guillaume Nicloux, Alain Guiraudie, Joachim Lafosse, Abderrahmane Sissako, Julie Gavras, Franco Lolli, Aude Léa Rapin, Céline Devaux, Cédric Kahn, Xavier Beauvois, Gustave Kervern, Benoît Delépine and Corneliu Porumboiu.

Cannes Critics’ Week runs from May 15 to 23.


Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.