‘Shogun’ to Shake-Up Emmys Drama Race: Which Guest Actors and Episodes Did FX Submit? (EXCLUSIVE)

“Shōgun” is officially in the drama race for the Primetime Emmys.

FX has confirmed that the once limited or anthology series heavyweight has been officially submitted and accepted in the drama categories, where it will compete against Netflix’s “The Crown,” Apple’s “The Morning Show” and Prime Video’s “Fallout.” In addition, the network has shared exclusively with Variety the complete list of 40 Emmy submissions, which includes six submissions for directing, four for writing, and two eligible guest actors. HBO’s “Game of Thrones” currently holds the record for most nominations in a single year with 32. Could FX break the monumental record?

More from Variety

Following the announcement that FX, Hulu, and the estate of James Clavell — who authored the novel — are working on developing more seasons of the critically acclaimed series, “Shōgun” is now officially eligible to compete in the drama races after being commissioned as limited. The move puts the show among the top contenders to garner the most nominations in this year’s Emmys race.

“SHOGUN” --  "Anjin" -- Episode 1 (Airs February 27)  Pictured:   Hiroyuki Sanada as Yoshii Toranaga.  CR: Katie Yu/FX
“Shogun” Exclusive Art

“Shōgun” follows a shipwrecked English sailor, played by Cosmo Jarvis, in the 17th century who becomes involved in a bloody power struggle at the highest levels of the Japanese government. Hiroyuki Sanada, who produces and stars as Lord Yoshii Toranaga, portrays a ruling Council of Regents member who must fight for survival when the political tides turn against him. The first season also starred Anna Sawai, Tadanobu Asano, Hiroto Kanai, Takehiro Hira, Moeka Hoshi, Tokuma Nishioka, Shinnosuke Abe, Yuki Kura, Yuka Kouri and Fumi Nikaido.

This year, the limited series race is fiercely competitive, sparking widespread panic among networks and awards strategists regarding the few available slots. The vacating of “Shōgun” gives needed boosts to shows such as “Baby Reindeer” from Netflix, “Fellow Travelers” from Showtime, and its FX sibling series “Fargo.”

Read: All Primetime Emmy predictions in every category on Variety’s Awards Circuit.

In the drama landscape, Jarvis and Sanada are poised for lead drama actor nominations, injecting fresh energy into a category that was begging for excitement, with pundits divided between Gary Oldman (“Slow Horses”) and Dominic West (“The Crown”), both of whom have never received nods for their roles. Sanada could make history, becoming the second Asian actor nominated after Lee Jung-Jae, who won for “Squid Game” in 2022.

Sawai, portraying the dutiful translator Toda Mariko, moves to the forefront in the lead drama actress category, contending against Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon (“The Morning Show”), Oscar laureate Emma Stone (“The Curse”), and Imelda Staunton (“The Crown”). Her remarkable performance, especially in episode nine, is the type of work that is hard to ignore.

The supporting actors Asano and Nikaido, in addition to their co-stars Hira, Nishioka, Hoshi and Kouri, should comfortably fit into their respective categories. However, the talented ensemble will now produce two more possible nominations for guest stars Néstor Carbonell and Yûko Miyamoto, which will likely beef up the potential nomination tally.

The full list of FX’s submissions is below. Nomination-round voting begins on June 13.

  • Outstanding Drama Series

  • Directing for a drama series — Jonathan Van Tulleken (Episode 101: “Anjin”); Charlotte Brändström (Episode 103: “Tomorrow is Tomorrow”); Hiromi Kamata (Episode 106: “Ladies of the Willow World”); Takeshi Fukunaga (Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”); Emmanuel Osei-Kuffour, Jr. (Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”); Frederick E.O. Toye (Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”)

  • Writing for a Drama Series — Rachel Kondo, Justin Marks (Episode 101: “Anjin”); Matt Lambert (Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”); Shannon Goss (Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”); Rachel Kondo, Caillin Puente (Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”), Maegan Houang, Emily Yoshida (Episode 110: “A Dream of a Dream”)

  • Production Design for a Narrative Period or Fantasy Program (One Hour or More) — Helen Jarvis (production designer, Episode 101: “Anjin”)

  • Cinematography for a Series (One Hour) — Christopher Ross (director of photography, Episode 101: “Anjin”), Sam McCurdy (director of photography, Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”)

  • Casting for a Drama Series — Laura Schiff, Carrie Audino (casting by), Kei Kawamura (Japan casting), Maureen Webb, Colleen Bolton (Canadian casting)

  • Lead Actor in a Drama Series — Cosmo Jarvis, Hiroyuki Sanada

  • Lead Actress in a Drama Series — Anna Sawai

  • Supporting Actor in a Drama Series — Tadanobu Asano, Takehiro Hira, Tokuma Nishioka

  • Supporting Actress in a Drama Series — Fumi Nikaido, Moeka Hoshi, Yuka Kouri

  • Guest Actor in a Drama Series — Néstor Carbonell (Episode 101: “Anjin”)

  • Guest Actress in a Drama Series — Yûko Miyamoto (Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”)

  • Period and/or Fantasy Sci-Fi Hairstyling — Sanna Kaarina Seppanen (hair designer, Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”)

  • Period and/or Fantasy Sci-Fi Makeup (Non-Prosthetic) — Rebecca Lee (makeup designer, Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”)

  • Prosthetic Makeup — Toby Lindala (special makeup effects department head, Episode 10: “A Dream of a Dream”)

  • Period Costumes — Carlos Rosario (costume designer, Episode 106: “Ladies of the Willow World”)

  • Main Title Design

  • Picture Editing for a Drama Series — Maria Gonzales, Aika Miyaki (editors, Episode 10: “A Dream of a Dream”)

  • Special Sivusl Effects in a Season or a Movie — Michael Cliett (overall visual effects supervisor)

  • Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score) — Atticus Ross, Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba (music by, Episode 102: “Servants of Two Masters”)

  • Original Main Title Theme Music — Atticus Ross, Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba (main title theme by)

  • Sound Editing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour) — Brian J. Armstrong (supervising sound editor, Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”)

  • Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour) — Steve Pederson, Greg P. Russell (re-recording mixers), Michael Williamson (production mixer), Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”

  • Stunt Coordination for Drama Programming — Lauro Chartrand-Delvalle

  • Stunt Performance — Hiroo Minami, Nobuyuki Obikane, Martin Cochingco, Johnson Phan (stunt performer, Episode 104: “The Eightfold Fence”)

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.