BAFTA TV Craft Awards: ‘Silo’, ‘Slow Horses’ & ‘Black Mirror’s ‘Demon 79’ Among 5 Double Winners

Last night was a good one for some of Apple TV+’s biggest shows at the BAFTA Television Craft Awards, with Silo and Slow Horses taking two gongs apiece, along with Black Mirror.

The awards celebrate the creativity, skill, and craft of behind-the-scenes television talent and the best programs of 2023 in the UK, and take place two weeks before the BAFTA TV Awards.

More from Deadline

The following won two BAFTAs each:

  • Charlie Brooker and Bisha K Ali won the Writer Drama category and Stephan Pehrsson won for Photography & Lighting Fiction for Demon 79 (Black Mirror). Brooker and Ali won in a tricky category featuring Jesse Armstrong (Succession), Sarah Phelps (The Sixth Commandment) and Sally Wainwright (Happy Valley).

  • Nikki Parsons, Ollie Bartlett and Richard Valentine won the Director: Multi-camera category, and Julio Himede, Tim Routledge, Kojo Samuel, Michael Sharp and Dan Shipton won Entertainment Craft Team for Eurovision Song Contest 2023.

  • The Editing Team behind Once Upon a Time in Northern Ireland won Editing: Factual and the documentary’s composer Simon Russell won Original Music: Factual.

  • Atli Örvarsson won Original Music: Fiction and Gavin Bocquet and Amanda Bernstein won Production Design for their work on Silo.

  • The Sound Team behind Slow Horses won Sound: Fiction, and Sam Williams collected a BAFTA for Editing: Fiction, for their work on episode 1 of the show.

Director: Factual was won by Peter Beard and Bruce Fletcher for Otto Baxter: Not a F***ing Horror Story.

Peter Hoar won Director: Fiction for The Last of Us.

The Emerging Talent: Fiction category was won by writer Kat Sadler for Such Brave Girls, while the Emerging Talent: Factual saw director Fred Scott win for London Bridge: Facing Terror.

BAFTA Breakthrough Jack Rooke collected the BAFTA for Writer: Comedy for Big Boys.

Aisha Bywaters, also a BAFTA Breakthrough alumni, received her second BAFTA for Scripted Casting for Three Little Birds, having won in 2022 for We are Lady Parts.

First-time BAFTA winners included, Sharon Long, Costume Design for The Great, Lisa Parkinson, Make-up & Hair Design for The Long Shadow, and Benedict Sanderson, winner of Photography: Factual for The Detectives: Taking down an OCG.

The Sound Team won Sound: Factual for The Coronation of TM The King and Queen Camilla.

Tamsin McGee, Ben Hanbury, Hugo Moss and Paul McDonnell won for Wilderness in the Titles and Graphic Identity category.

Tim Crosbie, Caimin Bourne, Jet Omoshebi, Dan Weir, Cinesite and David Stephens won Special, Visual & Graphic Effects for The Witcher.

The Television Craft Special Award was presented by ITV presenter Ria Hebden to MAMA Youth Project in recognition of their work helping young people from underrepresented groups to access careers in the television and media industries. Founder and CEO Bob Clarke accepted the Award.

The BAFTA Television Craft Awards were hosted for the first time by award-winning TV presenter Stacey Dooley, and took place at The Brewery London.

The night featured host of top TV talent as guest presenters including; Angelica Bell, Bettany Hughes, Callum Scott Howells, Cliff Parisi, Daniel Laurie, Diane Carson, Emily Lloyd-Saini, Humphrey Ker, Jodie Ounsley, Josh Tedeku, Judi Love, Katie Piper, Liz Bonnin, Mawaan Rizwan, Myles Kamwendo, Ray Panthaki, Ria Hebden, Rochelle Neil, Roisin Gallagher, Saffron Coomber, Tanya Moodie and Yazmin Belo.

Highlights of the BAFTA TV Craft Awards will be shared via @BAFTA social channels on YouTube, Instagram and X at #BAFTACraftAwards.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.