‘Foundation’ Season 3 Adds ‘CODA’ Star Troy Kotsur to Cast

Troy Kotsur has joined Season 3 of “Foundation” at Apple TV+.

The role will mark a return to Apple for Kotsur, who previously starred in the film “CODA,” which was distributed by the streaming arm of the tech giant.

More from Variety

In “Foundation,” Kotsur will appear in the role of Preem Palver, described as “the leader of a planet of psychics.” He joins returning series leads Lee Pace and Jared Harris in the sci-fi epic.

Kotsur won the Academy Award for best supporting actor for his role in “CODA,” with the film also winning best picture and best adapted screenplay. With the win, Kotsur became only the second deaf actor in history to win an Academy Award, after his “CODA” co-star Marlee Matlin, who won the best actress Oscar in 1987. Kotsur’s recent roles include an appearance as himself in the final season of “Curb Your Enthusiasm” and an appearance in Season 1 of “The Mandalorian.” He has also appeared in shows like “Criminal Minds,” “Scrubs,” and “CSI: New York.”

He is repped by Metric Talent Management, Independent Artist Group, Ziffren Brittenham LLP, and Rosenfield Media Group PR.

“Foundation” first debuted on Apple TV+ in 2021, with the second season airing in 2023. The show is based on the “Foundation” stories written by Isaac Asimov. Along with Harris and Pace, the cast also includes Lou Llobell, Leah Harvey, Laura Birn, Cassian Bilton, Terrence Mann, Isabella Laughland, Kulvinder Ghir, Ella-Rae Smith, Holt McCallany, Rachel House, Nimrat Kaur, Ben Daniels and Dimitri Leonidas.

The official description for Season 2 states: “As the Cleons unravel, a vengeful queen plots to destroy Empire from within. Hari, Gaal, and Salvor discover a colony of Mentalics with psionic abilities that threaten to alter psychohistory itself. The Foundation has entered its religious phase, promulgating the Church of Seldon throughout the Outer Reach and inciting the Second Crisis: war with Empire.”

David S. Goyer serves as showrunner and executive producer. Jane Espenson, Leigh Dana Jackson, Roxann Dawson, David Ellison, Dana Goldberg, Matt Thunell, and Robyn Asimov also serve as executive producers.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.