Actors Set To Vote On Strike Deal After SAG-AFTRA Board Approves Tentative Agreement – Update

The actors are set to vote on the tentative agreement with the studios after the SAG-AFTRA national board approved the deal.

However, National Executive Director and Chief Negotiator Duncan Crabtree-Ireland said that the board only approved the deal by 86%, not a unanimous vote.

More from Deadline

“This has been made possible by the membership’s phenomenal solidarity and support for their negotiating committee and we’re exceedingly grateful for all of the support from the entertainment industry unions who have rallied behind us throughout this strike,” he said.

Voting will begin on Tuesday, according to Crabtree-Ireland, and will end in the first week of December.

It comes as SAG-AFTRA’s press conference, led by President Fran Drescher and Crabtree-Ireland, to reveal some details of the proposals was delayed by around 90 minutes.

It follows a similar process to the WGA, which saw 99% of WGA members vote for their own three-year deal.

However, voting will take slightly longer and is more complicated than for the WGA as a result of the large member base of SAG-AFTRA. While WGA has around 11,000 members, most of whom are digitally savvy, SAG-AFTRA has around 160,000 members with more folk that will need to vote using paper rather than online.

The WGA vote took a week.

The national board that ratified the tentative agreement includes President Fran Drescher, Secretary-Treasurer Joely Fisher and other vice presidents as well as more than 65 others including stars such as Sean Astin, Josh Charles, Henry Ian Cusick, Frances Fisher, Elliott Gould, Dulé Hill, Michelle Hurd, Rosie O’Donnell, Billy Porter, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Sharon Stone and Lisa Ann Walter.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.