Eurovision 2023: How to watch the song contest as grand final approaches

Eurovision 2023: How to watch the song contest as grand final approaches

The 2023 Eurovision Song Contest grand final has finally arrived.

The two semi-finals took place in Liverpool this week. See our guide to the acts that qualified here.

The UK is hosting this year’s competition as the 2022 winners Ukraine are unable to, due to Russia’s invasion.

Ukraine’s Kalush Orchestra won the song contest last year, with the UK’s Sam Ryder runner-up with his hit song Space Man.

Here is everything we know about when Eurovision 2023 is, where it will be held, and how to watch it.

When is the Eurovision Song Contest 2023?

The Eurovision Song Contest 2023 began on May 9 with the first semi-final.

The second semi-final took place two days later, on May 11.

The winner of Eurovision 2023 will be crowned in the final on May 13, which will air on BBC One.

Who is presenting Eurovision?

British TV star Alesha Dixon, Ted Lasso actress Hannah Waddingham and Ukrainian singer Julia Sanina will host the Eurovision Song Contest alongside returning favourite Graham Norton.

Who will perform for the UK at Eurovision 2023?

Mae Muller, a 25-year-old singer from north London, will represent the UK in this year’s Eurovision.

Muller, from Kentish Town, will perform I Wrote a Song in Liverpool this May.

She was chosen by BBC bosses and global management company TaP Music, which has counted Lana Del Rey and Ellie Goulding among its clients.

Where is the Eurovision Song Contest being held?

Liverpool will host this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. The event will take place in the 11,000-capacity M&S Bank Arena.

The competition will be broadcast live on BBC One. It will be hosted by singer Alesha Dixon, Ted Lasso actress Hannah Waddingham, and Ukrainian singer Julia Sanina. Returning favourite Graham Norton, the comedian and talk show host, will also be a host at the grand final.

Birmingham hosted Eurovision in 1998 — the last time it took place in the UK — but it has also been hosted by London, Edinburgh, and Brighton. Britain last won the competition in 1997 with Katrina and the Waves, one of five successes since it began in 1956.

Eurovision Grand Final running order

  1. Austria: Teya & Salena — Who The Hell Is Edgar?

  2. Portugal: Mimicat — Ai Coração

  3. Switzerland: Remo Forrer — Watergun

  4. Poland: Blanka — Solo

  5. Serbia: Luke Black — Samo Mi Se Spava

  6. France: La Zarra — Évidemment

  7. Cyprus: Andrew Lambrou — Break A Broken Heart

  8. Spain: Blanca Paloma — Eaea

  9. Sweden: Loreen — Tattoo

  10. Albania: Albina & Familja Kelmendi — Duje

  11. Italy: Marco Mengoni — Due Vite

  12. Estonia: Alika — Bridges

  13. Finland: Käärijä — Cha Cha Cha

  14. Czechia: Vesna — My Sister’s Crown

  15. Australia: Voyager — Promise

  16. Belgium: Gustaph — Because Of You

  17. Armenia: Brunette — Future Lover

  18. Moldova: Pasha Parfeni — Soarele ÅŸi Luna

  19. Ukraine: Tvorchi — Heart of Steel

  20. Norway: Alessandra — Queen of Kings

  21. Germany: Lord of the Lost — Blood & Glitter

  22. Lithuania: Monika LinkytÄ— — Stay

  23. Israel: Noa Kirel — Unicorn

  24. Slovenia: Joker Out — Carpe Diem

  25. Croatia: Let 3 — Mama ŠÄŒ!

  26. United Kingdom: Mae Muller — I Wrote A Song

The ‘Big Five’ (France, Germany, Spain, Italy and host country the UK), and current champions Ukraine, will not perform in either of the semi-finals. However, their domestic audiences will be able to vote in one of them.