Ryan Murphy & Kim Kardashian’s ‘All’s Fair’ Among Latest California Tax Credits Recipients As State Hands Out $58M In Incentives This Round

Ryan Murphy and Kim Kardashian are having a very good week.

Two days after it was announced that Halle Berry and Glen Close had joined the cast of the mega-producer and the reality star’s All’s Fair, today the California Film Commission announced the Hulu legal drama as one of the recipients of the state’s film and tv tax incentive program.

More from Deadline

To be specific, as a part of a 20% non-transferable tax credit, All’s Fair is set to receive $14,122,000 from the Golden State. The LA-set series is among five shows that were awarded $58 million in incentives total this round.

Starring Kardashian as well as fellow EPs Berry and Close, the “high-end, glossy and sexy adult procedural” from 20th TV, as Murphy describes it, estimates to shot for almost 100 days in and around the City of Angels. The show will hire over 400 cast and crew, and spend $69.7 million in qualified expenditures in the state, according to the CFC.

“Ryan Murphy and I are thrilled to be able to shoot our upcoming legal drama All’s Fair in Los Angeles, with incredibly experienced local crew members, access to authentic and quintessential Los Angeles locations, and utilizing top production facilities, due to the California Film Commission’s Film & Television Tax Credit Program,” showrunner and EP Jon Robin Baitz said.

“Walk onto a soundstage and you understand instantly that hundreds of jobs are created and nurtured by keeping the work here, and even more families and lives thrive as a result,” Brothers & Sisters scribe Baitz added. “This credit is central to our industry and to California’s position as one of the largest economies in the world. And now more than ever, as the production landscape shifts, the importance of the program cannot be overstated.”

All’s Fair is the first series for Murphy, who is no stranger to California tax incentive awards, under his new deal at Disney, with 20th Television, part of Disney TV Studios, producing in association with Ryan Murphy Television. Baitz, Joe Baken, Jamie Pachino, Laura Greene and Richard Levine executive produce alongside Murphy, Kardashian, Berry alongside her producing partner Holly Jeter via their production company HalleHolly and Close through her Trillium Productions banner. Kris Jenner, Alexis Martin Woodall, Eric Kovtun and Scott Robertson also EP. Murphy is also set to direct.

The other projects tentatively set for the small screen credits include Faith Media Distribution’s security guard comedy Lot Patrol, the HBO Original Latitude, and an untitled AppleTV series. The trio received $1.4 million, $20.3 million and $15 million respectively. You may recall Latitude from the April allocation announcement, were it received a credit of $20.2 million. Due to “scheduling conflicts,” according to the CFC, the HBO show dropped out of the program, But looks like they got it together enough to get back in for this round.

There’s also a recurring series that got $7.2 million in incentives that the CFC hasn’t released the name of yet because it hasn’t had a formal pick-up order yet. Not putting out the name of the recurring series is a relatively new move by the CFC for the $330 million annual program. Then again, more than a few studios and streamers have been blindsided by CFC announcements on allocations before actually giving a show or film the green light.

While the likes of LA Mayor Karen Bass believe the incentives should be increased to help jump start tepid production in the home of Hollywood, the program was one of the few state initiatives that didn’t see budget cuts from the deficit plagued Sacramento this year. To that, the jobs-focused tax incentive plan estimates the five shows awarded in this round will  spend around $386 million in the state to California businesses. The quintuplet will employ 1,196 crew members, 685 cast members, and about 15,869 background performers, the CFC says.

In terms of future allocation rounds, the next film deadline is July 29-31. Successful applicants will be notified and revealed in early September. For TV, the next rounds are in September 2024 and March 2025.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.