Rugby World Cup 2023 kick-off times: How to follow on the BBC, fixture list, results, pools, rankings and tournament rules

2023 Rugby World Cup

Hosts: France Dates: 8 September to 28 October

Coverage: Full commentary of every game across BBC Radio 5 Live and Radio 5 Live Sports Extra, plus text updates on the BBC Sport website and app.

The 10th Rugby World Cup takes place in France from 8 September until 28 October.

You can follow live commentary of all 48 matches across BBC Radio 5 Live, Sports Extra, BBC Sounds, the BBC Sport website and the BBC Sport app.

There will be live text commentary, live scores and reports of all the games on the BBC Sport website.

In the UK, the tournament will be televised on ITV.

The Rugby Union Weekly podcast will be available to download daily and will have all the news, debate and big issues from France.

The new Rugby Union Top 10 podcast series debating different aspects of the tournament's history has also launched on BBC Sounds.

BBC Radio Scotland, BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru and BBC Radio Ulster will produce bespoke output for their teams.

When do the British and Irish teams play this week?

England thrashed Chile 71-0 in Lille on Saturday and Ireland take on champions South Africa in a huge game in Paris at 20:00 BST.

Scotland return to action in Nice against Tonga at 16:45 BST on Sunday before Wales play Australia in Lyon at 20:00 BST.

What pools are England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland in?

Rugby World Cup groups

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia

Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania

Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal

Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile

Where are matches being played?

Matches will be played across nine host cities - Paris, Marseille, Nice, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Lyon, Lille, Saint-Etienne and Nantes.

Tournament rules

Teams receive four points for a win and two for a draw. A bonus point is awarded for scoring four tries or for a defeat by seven points or fewer.

The winner and runner-up in each pool qualify for the quarter-finals. If two teams are tied on the same number of points, the winner of the match between those teams will go through.

World Cup pool stage fixtures

All times are BST unless stated and are subject to change. The BBC is not responsible for any changes that may be made. Coverage is only available for UK users

Week three

Wednesday, 20 September

Pool A: Italy 38-17 Uruguay (Stade de Nice)

Thursday, 21 September

Pool A: France 96-0 Namibia (Stade de Marseille)

Friday, 22 September

Pool D: Argentina 19-10 Samoa (Stade Geoffroy-Guichard)

Saturday, 23 September

Pool C: Georgia 18-18 Portugal (Stadium de Toulouse)

Pool D: England 71-0 Chile (Stade Pierre-Mauroy)

Pool B: South Africa 8-13 Ireland (Stade de France)

Sunday, 24 September

Pool B: Scotland v Tonga (Stade de Nice), 16:45 - BBC Radio 5 Sports Extra (build-up from 16:30)

Pool C: Wales v Australia (OL Stadium), 20:00 - BBC Radio 5 Live (build-up from 19:30 BST)

Week four

Wednesday, 27 September

Pool A: Uruguay v Namibia (OL Stadium), 16:45

Thursday, 28 September

Pool D: Japan v Samoa (Stade de Toulouse), 20:00

Friday, 29 September

Pool A: New Zealand v Italy (OL Stadium), 20:00

Saturday, 30 September

Pool D: Argentina v Chile (Stade de la Beaujoire), 14:00

Pool C: Fiji v Georgia (Stade de Bordeaux), 16:45

Pool B: Scotland v Romania (Stade Pierre-Mauroy), 20:00

Sunday, 1 October

Pool C: Australia v Portugal (Stade Geoffroy-Guichard), 16:45

Pool B: South Africa v Tonga (Stade de Marseille), 20:00

Week five

Thursday, 5 October

Pool A: New Zealand v Uruguay (OL Stadium), 20:00

Friday, 6 October

Pool A: France v Italy (OL Stadium), 20:00

Saturday, 7 October

Pool C: Wales v Georgia (Stade de la Beaujoire), 14:00

Pool D: England v Samoa (Stade Pierre-Mauroy), 16:45

Pool B: Ireland v Scotland (Stade de France), 20:00

Sunday, 8 October

Pool D: Japan v Argentina (Stade de la Beaujoire), 12:00

Pool B: Tonga v Romania (Stade Pierre-Mauroy), 16:45

Pool C: Fiji v Portugal (Stade de Toulouse), 20:00

World Cup knockout fixtures

If teams are tied at full-time in the knockout stages, then the winner shall be determined through extra time, then sudden death if there's still no winner and finally a kicking competition if the scores are still tied.

Saturday, 14 October

Quarter-final 1: Winner Pool C v runner-up Pool D (Stade de Marseille), 16:00

Quarter-final 2: Winner Pool B v runner-up Pool A (Stade de France), 20:00

Sunday, 15 October

Quarter-final 3: Winner Pool D v runner-up Pool C (Stade de Marseille), 16:00

Quarter-final 4: Winner Pool A v runner-up Pool B (Stade de France), 20:00

Friday, 20 October

Semi-final 1: QF1 winner v QF2 winner (Stade de France), 20:00

Saturday, 21 October

Semi-final 2: QF3 winner v QF4 winner (Stade de France), 20:00

Friday, 27 October

Third-place match (Stade de France), 20:00

Saturday, 28 October

Final (Stade de France), 20:00

World Cup pool stage results

Friday, 8 September

Pool A: France 27-13 New Zealand (Stade de France)

Saturday, 9 September

Pool A: Italy 52-8 Namibia (Stade Geoffroy-Guichard)

Pool B: Ireland 82-8 Romania (Stade de Bordeaux)

Pool C: Australia 35-15 Georgia (Stade de France)

Pool D: England 27-10 Argentina (Stade de Marseille)

Sunday, 10 September

Pool D: Japan 42-12 Chile (Stade de Toulouse)

Pool B: South Africa 18-3 Scotland (Stade de Marseille)

Pool C: Wales 32-26 Fiji (Stade de Bordeaux)

Thursday, 14 September

Pool A: France 27-12 Uruguay (Stade Pierre-Mauroy)

Friday, 15 September

Pool A: New Zealand 71-3 Namibia (Stadium de Toulouse)

Saturday, 16 September

Pool D: Samoa 43-10 Chile (Stade de Bordeaux)

Pool C: Wales 28-8 Portugal (Stade de Nice)

Pool B: Ireland 59-16 Tonga (Stade de la Beaujoire)

Sunday, 17 September

Pool B: South Africa 76-0 Romania (Stade de Bordeaux)

Pool C: Australia 15-22 Fiji (Stade Geoffroy-Guichard)

Pool D: England 34-12 Japan (Stade de Nice)

World Cup squads

Each head coach has named a 33-man squad which was submitted to World Rugby on 28 August. Changes can be made because of injury throughout the tournament.

Who are the defending champions?

South Africa won the last World Cup held in Japan in 2019, beating England 32-12 in the final in Yokohama.

In the World Cup's 36-year history, only four countries - New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and England - have triumphed.