Cricket World Cup 2023: Final result, schedule, how to watch, venues and odds as Australia win

Cricket World Cup 2023: Final result, schedule, how to watch, venues and odds as Australia win

Australia won a record-extending sixth 50-overs World Cup title after opener Travis Head smashed a magnificent century to fashion their six-wicket victory in Sunday's final against the tournament's form team India.

The second semi-final took place a day later, as Australia edged their way to a nervy semi-final win over South Africa.

The final will take place at the the huge 132,000-seater Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19.

Jos Buttler's defending champions England have fallen to an embarrassing group-stage exit, having lost six of seven matches, before consolation wins over the Netherlands and Pakistan at least saw them finish on a high and secure Champions Trophy qualifcation.

Cricket World Cup 2023 fixtures and results

All times BST unless stated

Final

Sunday, November 19

Australia bt India by six wickets

Semi-finals

Wednesday, November 15

India bt New Zealand by 70 runs

Thursday, November 16

Australia bt South Africa by three wickets

Group stage

Thursday, October 5

New Zealand bt England by nine wickets

Friday, October 6

Pakistan bt Netherlands by 81 runs

Saturday, October 7

Bangladesh bt Afghanistan by six wickets

South Africa bt Sri Lanka by 102 runs

Sunday, October 8

India bt Australia by six wickets

Monday, October 9

New Zealand bt Netherlands by 99 runs

Tuesday, October 10

England bt Bangladesh by 137 runs

Pakistan bt Sri Lanka by six wickets

Wednesday, October 11

India bt Afghanistan by eight wickets

India is hosting this year’s Cricket World Cup (AFP via Getty Images)
India is hosting this year’s Cricket World Cup (AFP via Getty Images)

Thursday, October 12

South Africa bt Australia by 134 runs

Friday, October 13

New Zealand bt Bangladesh by eight wickets

Saturday, October 14

India bt Pakistan by seven wickets

Sunday, October 15

Afghanistan bt England by 69 runs

Monday, October 16

Australia bt Sri Lanka by five wickets

Tuesday, October 17

Netherlands bt South Africa by 38 runs

Wednesday, October 18

New Zealand bt Afghanistan by 149 runs

Kane Williamson is hoping to captain New Zealand to a World Cup win (PA)
Kane Williamson is hoping to captain New Zealand to a World Cup win (PA)

Thursday, October 19

India bt Bangladesh by seven wickets

Friday, October 20

Australia bt Pakistan by 62 runs

Saturday, October 21

Sri Lanka bt Netherlands by five wickets

South Africa bt England by 299 runs

Sunday, October 22

India bt New Zealand by four wickets

Monday, October 23

Afghanistan bt Pakistan by eight wickets

Tuesday, October 24

South Africa bt Bangladesh by 149 runs

Wednesday, October 25

Australia bt Netherlands by 309 runs

The Netherlands have struggled during the Cricket World Cup (Getty Images)
The Netherlands have struggled during the Cricket World Cup (Getty Images)

Thursday, October 26

Sri Lanka bt England by eight wickets

Friday, October 27

South Africa bt Pakistan by one wicket

Saturday, October 28

Australia bt New Zealand by five runs

Netherlands bt Bangladesh by 87 runs

Sunday, October 29

India bt England by 100 runs

Monday, October 30

Afghanistan bt Sri Lanka by seven wickets

Tuesday, October 31

Pakistan bt Bangladesh by seven wickets

Wednesday, November 1

South Africa bt New Zealand by 190 runs

South Africa have huge support in India (REUTERS)
South Africa have huge support in India (REUTERS)

Thursday, November 2

India bt Sri Lanka by 302 runs

Friday, November 3

Afghanistan bt Netherlands by seven wickets

Saturday, November 4

Pakistan bt New Zealand by 21 runs (DLS method)

Australia bt England by 33 runs

Sunday, November 5

Cricket World Cup: Virat Kohli levels Sachin Tendulkar's record as India thrash South Africa" rel="follow">India bt South Africa by 243 runs

Monday, November 6

Bangladesh bt Sri Lanka by three wickets

Tuesday, November 7

Australia bt Afghanistan by three wickets

Wednesday, November 8

England bt Netherlands by 160 runs

England's World Cup defence is over (Action Images via Reuters)
England's World Cup defence is over (Action Images via Reuters)

Thursday, November 9

New Zealand bt Sri Lanka by five wickets

Friday, November 10

South Africa bt Afghanistan by five wickets

Saturday, November 11

Australia bt Bangladesh by eight wickets

England bt Pakistan by 93 runs

Sunday, November 12

India bt Netherlands by 160 runs

Cricket World Cup 2023 odds

India - 10/11

Australia - 7/2

South Africa - 4/1

New Zealand - 7/1

Cricket World Cup 2023 venues

Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad - 132,000 capacity

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore - 40,000 capacity

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai - 50,000 capacity

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi - 41,842 capacity

HPCA Stadium, Dharamshala - 23,000 capacity

Narendra Modi Stadium will host the Cricket World Cup final in November (AFP via Getty Images)
Narendra Modi Stadium will host the Cricket World Cup final in November (AFP via Getty Images)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata - 66,000 capacity

BRSABVE Cricket Stadium, Lucknow - 50,000 capacity

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai - 32,000 capacity

MCA Stadium, Pune - 37,406 capacity

Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad - 55,000 capacity