British Book Awards 2023: The full list of this year’s winners

Davina McCall and Dr Naomi Potter at the British Book Awards 2023 at Grosvenor House London (PA)
Davina McCall and Dr Naomi Potter at the British Book Awards 2023 at Grosvenor House London (PA)

The British Book Awards 2023 on Monday crowned several authors across multiple categories at Grosvenor House London.

The annual awards, also referred to as Nibbies because of the golden nib-shaped trophies winners receive, celebrate the best books and authors in the UK publishing industry.

Having started in 1990, the awards have been organised by The Bookseller since 2017. The Bookseller is a renowned trade magazine and publishing industry resource in the UK.

Sir Salman Rushdie was given a Freedom to Publish award on behalf of “everybody fighting that fight” after he was attacked on stage in August 2022.

But who were the other winners of the British Book Awards 2023? Read on to find out.

Overall Winner and Non-fiction Lifestyle Book of the Year

Davina McCall and Dr Naomi Potter’s book Manoausing won two trophies this year.

The book was published six months ago and has featured constantly on worldwide bestseller charts.

McCall expressed her joy at its successes with a tweet that said: “I am walking on air. Naomi and I won two awards tonight. We are so so grateful to everyone that contributed.”

Fiction Book of the Year

R. F. Kuang’s Babel that tells the story of a compulsive dystopia, showcasing the power of language and the dangers of authoritarianism, was successful in this category.

Debut Book of the Year

Louise Kennedy was given a Nibbie for her book Trespasses. Set in1970s Belfast, the book tells the story of a schoolteacher navigating the social climate of the time.

Crime and Thriller Book of the Year

Janice Hallett’s The Twyford Code was the winner of this category. The mysterious tale revolves around a secret code found in a famous children’s author’s work by an English teacher. The teacher disappears and her former pupil decides to find out what happened to her.

Non-fiction Narrative Book of the Year

Super-Infinite by Katherine Rundell won this category. Her book covers the life of the renowned metaphysical poet John Donne.

Pageturner Book of the Year

Colleen Hoover won this for her book Verity. The bestseller documents the struggles of a writer who agrees to become another author’s ghostwriter.

The Discover Book of the Year

Sheena Patel’s I’m a Fan was successful here. The book focuses on social media, patriarchal systems and status anxiety through the prism of a toxic relationship.

Children’s Fiction Book of the Year

Tyger by SF Said and Dave McKean won this Nibbie. The book centres on a world on the brink of destruction before a magical animal is discovered in a London bin dump.

Children’s Illustrated Book of the Year

Grandad’s Camper, written by Harry Woodgate, won this category. The book shares messages about love and inclusion in a story about a grandfather going on adventures with his granddaughter.

Children’s Non-fiction Book of the Year

Dr Alex George won this category with his book A Better Day. This provides young readers with techniques and tools they can use to overcome their mental health struggles.