1 / 11

11 Foods and Condiments You Thought Were Vegan but Aren’t

11 Foods and Condiments You Thought Were Vegan but Aren’t

As the number of many well-meaning people resolving to clean up their eating in the new year reaches a groundswell, so too does the confusion surrounding the vegan status of many different food and drinks. For those transitioning from eating meat to living on a 100-percent plant-based diet, it's hard enough to stay disciplined (and give up cheese!), let alone know what you can and can't eat.

While you can be confident that every single fruit and vegetable that exists is on the "yes" list, beyond that, it gets a little complicated. For example, there are many things suited to vegetarians that are a big no-no for vegans and those eating 100-percent plant-based. Unfortunately, it goes beyond recognizable ingredients on the nutrition label, so you really do need to do a little reading to get up to date on what you should be cautious of.

If you're hopping on the vegan or plant-based bandwagon this January, or any other month of the year, click through for a quick refresher of things you probably didn't realize you can no longer eat.